Sean William Calhoun | Composer and pianist

Sonata No. 2 for Tuba and Piano (2018) – 11'

I. Foundation
II. Cavatina
III. Coil
My second sonata for tuba and piano was composed for tubist Max Briggs. Foundation develops out of the tuba’s opening melody and the piano’s interjections, with heavy chords moving it inexorably forward, broken by a brief, crystalline middle section. Cavatina is lyrical, with a slow melody always accompanied by Eb/D# pulsing a five-beat rhythm. Coil turns the first movement’s main motive backwards, then winds it around itself to form a driving, rhythmic melody.