Sean William Calhoun | Composer and pianist

Releasing, for solo marimba (2019) – 10'

I. Roots
II. Reach
III. Mobility
Releasing is a set of three movements, with each successive movement using one fewer playing implement. The first, Roots, uses four mallets, and as such tends toward thicker harmonies and heavier textures. The second, Reach reduces the right hand to one mallet, focusing on a long melody. While playing marimba with up to four mallets is standard, reducing to one implement in each hand does allow faster and more precise control of each one, which allows for the quick syncopations and asymmetric meters of the final movement, Mobility.